March 30, 2018

The 6th Annual NEVY Awards Event Preview

The New England Venture Capital Association (NEVCA) is holding their annual award show, the NEVY Awards, on May 9, 2018 at the House of Blues in Boston. The event acts as a celebration of New England tech and life science startups—early stage and late—as well as entrepreneurs and investors.

After last year’s Mardi Gras theme and the country western theme the year prior, one might wonder how they can top it off with another amazing show?

As 2018 marks the sixth installment of the awards show, the NEVYs are going with a “Stah Wahs” theme called, “Episode VI: Return of the NEVYs.” Be prepared for lightsabers, Jedi, robots, and lots more.

Each year, the NEVYs presents awards for different categories – this year, drilling down by industry sector – and offer separate awards for both tech and life science categories. The nominees for this year’s awards have not been revealed just yet, though they will be announced on April 2nd.

This year, the NEVYs “Academy,” – the people who discuss the sector and select the winners – includes a who’s who roster of investors from the tech and life sciences communities.

The Tech Academy members are:

  • Scott Friend, Chairman (Bain Capital Ventures)

  • Jim Goldinger (ClearSky Power)

  • Brian Goldsmith (Bain Capital Ventures)

  • Maia Heymann (Converge)

  • Galit Krifcher (Battery Ventures)

  • Millie Liu (First Star VC)

  • Juan Luis Leung-Li (Tectonic Ventures)

  • Rob McCall (.406 Ventures)

  • Ryan Moore (Accomplice)

  • Vivjan Myrto (Hyperplane)

  • Bill Rice (Bose Ventures)

  • Doug Roth (CI Ventures)

  • Parul Singh (Founder Collective)

  • Adam Sharkawy (Material Impact)

  • Nicole Stata (Boston Seed Capital)

  • Steve Taub (GE Ventures)

  • Tibor Toth (MassCEC)

  • Adam Wallen (Break-Through Energy Ventures )

  • Baiyin Zhu (Ascent Venture Partners)

The Life Sciences & Healthcare Academy members are:

  • Marian Nakada, Co-Chair (Johnson & Johnson Innovation – JJDC)

  • Johannes Fruehauf, Co-Chair (LabCentral and Bio-Innovation Capital)

  • Peter Barrett (Atlas Venture)

  • Maria Berkman (Broadview Ventures)

  • Laura Brass (MPM Capital)

  • Nancy Brown (Oak HC/FT)

  • Margarita Chavez (AbbVie Ventures)

  • Colleen Cuffaro (Canaan)

  • Liam Donohue (.406 Ventures)

  • Eileen Elliott (Pfizer)

  • Paulina Hill (Polaris Partners)

  • V. Kadir Kadhiresan (Johnson & Johnson Innovation – JJDC)

  • Ellie McGuire (LS Polaris Innovation Fund)

  • Geoff Pardo (Gilde Healthcare Partners)

  • Stefan Vitorovic (Vida Ventures)

  • Scott Yaphe (Schooner Capital)

Last year, some of the big Tech winners included nuTonomy (Hottest Early Stage Startup), Turbonomic (Next Pillar Tech Company), Joe Caruso (Angel of the Year), Highland Capital Partners (Fund of the Year), and Ric Fulop of Desktop Metal (Entrepreneur of the Year). Life Science winners included Magenta Therapeutics (Hottest Startup - Therapeutics), Nimbus Apollo (Exit of the Year), and Kurt Graves of Intarcia Therapeutics (Entrepreneur of the Year).

What does it mean to win a NEVY? Well, following last year’s awards, nuTonomy was acquired by Delphi Automotive for $450M (you can read more about nuTonomy in our deep dive of Boston’s autonomous driving scene). Desktop Metal, meanwhile, raised a Series D totaling $115M last July, as well as a $65M Series E led by Ford earlier this month. Juan Luis Leung-Li, the winner of the Rising Star VC award, has since gone on to become a Partner at an early stage investment firm called Tectonic Ventures.

The event will be held from 6:30 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. on May 9. If you’re interested, tickets can be found right here. Use our code: VENTUREFIZZ for 15% discount.

Alexander Culafi is a Staff Writer for VentureFizz. You can follow him on Twitter @culafia